Monday, July 18, 2011

Trying to Make it Safer in Kuwait

Ministry Suspends Work Permits For Certain Nationalities
KUWAIT CITY, April 26: The Interior Ministry has suspended the issuing of work permits and new residence permits to Iraqis, Iranians, Syrians, Pakistanis and Afghans until further notice due to the current unrest in their countries. Reliable sources, however, added the final say in all matters related to work permits, visit visas and residence permits will lie in the hands of acting Deputy Premier and Minister of Interior Sheikh Ahmad Al-Humoud and Undersecretary Lt General Ghazi Al-Omar, reports Al-Rai daily.

Referring to the suspension orders, sources said the ministry will take further decisions depending on the developments in these countries.

The General Department of Immigration has reportedly started acting on the instructions, but is continuing to renew the residence of people of these nationalities.
Sources said the new directive will not affect residence law violators who want to legalize their status or leave the country during the amnesty period as they can re-enter the country once the situation in their respective countries stabilizes.

Kuwait imposes visa ban on Syrians, Iraqis, Pakistanis, Iranians and Afghans

Monday, June 27, 2011 15:33 GMT
The temporary visa ban on citizens from Iraq, Syria, Iran, Afghanistan and Pakistan is ongoing until further notice due to turmoil in these countries, Kuwaiti Interior Ministry said.

Brigadier Talal Al Maarefi, an official at the Immigration Directorate at Kuwait Interior Ministry told Kuwaiti Al Ra’i Newspaper that the ongoing visa ban on citizens from Iraq, Syria, Iran, Afghanistan and Pakistan is ongoing until further notice.

“The visa ban removal depends on the security situation in these countries affirming that Kuwait has the right to take preventive security measures which it deems convenient to secure the country from turmoil in other regions”, Al Maarefi said.

“There are no exceptions regarding the visa ban omitting however those who have entered Kuwait before April 24 and did not manage to complete their papers before the law entered into force”, he added.

Kuwait had announced on April 24 that concerned authorities at Kuwait’s Immigration General Directorate have halted visa procedures for five nationalities including Syria, Iraq, Pakistan, Iran and Afghanistan until further notice on account of demonstrations and turmoil in these countries.

Visa ban on Syrians, Iraqis, Pakistanis, Iranians and Afghans include all kinds of visa whether familial, touristic, personal, commercial or visas for joining family members.

No comments:

Post a Comment